Leading telecommunications company Globe Telecom is set to announce on September 17 the winners of the 2nd Cebu Media Excellence Awards (CMEA) which seeks to give recognition to media professionals and digital media practitioners who do not only excel in their respective fields but are also social advocates.

Philip Tan, President of Mandaue Chamber of Commerce and Industry, leads a distinguish panel of judges in the selection of winning entries which touch on Business and Entrepreneurship, Information and Communications Technology, Environment and Disaster Response, Governance and Social Progress, and/or Youth and Education.

Together with him are Land Transportation Franchise and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) Region 7 Director Ahmed Cuizon, well-known triathlete and coach Noy Jopson, University of the Philippines Cebu Dean lawyer Liza Corro, Dilaab Foundation Executive Director Fr. Carmelo O. Diola, SSL, Investor Relations Global Managing Director Lito Bunag, Media Contacts Philippines/Havas Digital Chairman and CEO Jose Ortega, and International Institute of Digital Marketing Director Hans Roxas-Chua.

A staunch supporter of the Cebu Press Freedom Week celebration for over a decade already, Globe realizes the importance of continued pursuit of media excellence in able to defend, sustain, and broaden such basic democratic right.

“Beyond the daily coverage of developing events, we want to further encourage media excellence in civic, investigative and explanatory journalism that would delve into such social concerns as freedom from ignorance, freedom from poverty, and freedom from corruption. Media excellence is crucial if our country should leap forward in terms of social and economic development within an atmosphere of freedom,” said Yoly C. Crisanto, Head of Globe Corporate Communications Division.

She added: “We hope the CMEA will serve as the best opportunity and venue for Cebu journalists, broadcasters, bloggers and social media advocates to be recognized as among the best media practitioners in the Philippines.”

The same standards of excellence shall be applied for all award contenders whether their works are written in English or Cebuano to serve as a challenge for Cebuano-language writers to level up and encourage English-language writers to further hone their craft and set the pace. This is in recognition of the importance of developing local languages to strengthen national identity.

Award Categories include: 1. Reporter of the Year for Print; 2. Feature Story of the Year for Print; 3. Columnist of the Year; 4. Photojournalist of the Year; 5. Reporter of the Year for Television; 6. Feature Story of the Year for Television; 7. Reporter of the Year for Radio; 8. Blogger of the Year and 9. Social Media Advocate of the Year.

The screening committee for the entries is composed of faculty members of notable universities in Cebu. They include Cebu Institute of Technology Languages, Literature and Communication Department Chair Joylynn Emily T. Paz; St. Theresa’s College of Cebu City Program Head of Communication Mia Embalzado-Mateo; Southwestern University Languages and Letters Department Head Delia Aseniero; Cebu Normal University Publications Manager Dr. Reynaldo Caturza; University of San Jose-Recoletos Department of Social Sciences and Philosophy Chair Dr. Glenn Pajares, University of San Jose-Recoletos Department of Psychology and Library Information Science Faculty Leo Antiporta; and University of Cebu Liberal Arts Department Head Dr. Ulysses B. Aparece.

About the author

- Professor: A part-time college professor. - Wordpress Specialist & Hosting Expert: I love messing around Wordpress stuffs. - Blogger: I love to write random stuffs even if it's beyond my interests. - Events Photographer: I love to capture and freeze moments in time. I shoot events and I love photography. - Husband:Happily married since 2015. I love my lovely & beautiful wife and our little one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *